Minute of the 76TH year Annual General Meeting of the Association held in the Aberdeenshire Cricket Club, Morningside Road, Mannofield, AB10 7FB on Thursday 19th January 2023 at 7.30pm.

Present: Paul Adderton, 56 members of the Association, and Rebecca Lewis from Buglife Scotland.

The President welcomed members to the meeting.

1. Apologies

Apologies were received from Sandy Bremner, Richard Mchattie, Alan Finn, Quintin Clark, Alan Murray, and Donald Milne.

2. Minutes

The minutes of the 75th year Extraordinary General Meeting were posted on the Associations website and the link to them included in the AGM Notice:

ABERDEEN & DISTRICT ANGLING ASSOCIATION (adaa.org.uk)

They were approved on the motion of Alex Skakle, seconded by Nicky Taylor.

3. Matters Arising

None.

4. Presidential Remarks

The President presented his annual report, key points from this are posted on the website:

Presidential-Remarks-2023.pdf (adaa.org.uk)

He also expanded on some items that were in the Annual Newsletter that is also posted on the website:

ADAA-Newsletter-2023-MP-PROOF-IV.pdf

Also, Management Committee member Ash Mckinnon gave a presentation on membership development, again posted on the website:

Here's your outline to get started (adaa.org.uk)

5. Finance

The President vacated the chair, and the Secretary/ Treasurer temporally took the chair for this item.

Referring to the Annual Accounts:

2022 Final accounts - signed.pdf (adaa.org.uk)

The Secretary/ Treasurer presented a report for accounting year 2021/2022.

There were no questions about the report.

The annual accounts were approved on the motion of Alex Skakle, seconded by Robert Paterson.

6. Subscriptions

The President expanded on the reasons outlined in the Annual Newsletter why Management Committee members were seeking an increase in Annual Subscriptions and sought views and proposals from those present.

Jim Polson proposed no increase. This was seconded by Ernest Mackay Junior.

Bob Meiklejohn proposed a 10% increase across the board. This was seconded by Matt Hart.

Kenny Riddell proposed an £20 increase for Ordinary Members only and that the subscription for Senior Citizens be debated separately. This was seconded by Zander Daukantas.

Following a vote, a £20 increase for Ordinary Members only was approved, 24 votes to 10 and 11 respectively.

The President than asked Honorary President Alastair Hume MBE to report why Management Committee members were seeking a greater increase for Senior Citizens then Ordinary Members. Following this, views and proposals were sought from those present.

John Stephen proposed a £30 increase. This was seconded by Jim Polson.

John Jamieson proposed a £10 increase. This was seconded by Zander Daukantas.

Following a vote, a £10 increase for Senior Citizens only was approved, 40 votes to 10.

7. Catch Returns Report for Season 2022

Committee member Murray Hourston presented his report:

Aberdeen and District Angling Association (adaa.org.uk)

8. Election of Office Bearers

The President vacated the chair, and the Secretary/ Treasurer temporally took the chair for this item.

Alastair Hume MBE seconded by Lewis Baxter proposed Paul Adderton for the post of President.

Paul Adderton seconded by Ernest Mackay Junior proposed Kenny Riddell for the post of Vice-President.

Being no further nominations Paul Adderton and Kenny Riddell, were elected.

There were no other nominations for the post/s of Secretary/ Treasurer Paul Toseland duly took on the posts again.

Committee elections

The Secretary/ Treasurer confirmed that under the Constitution, out of the 15 Committee members, 5 shall retire annually, in effect every Committee member should retire by rotation after 3 years.

Therefore, he reported & recommended to those present:

That Committee members in places 11 to 15 are due for re-election in 2023. They are:

Nicky Taylor, Richard Mchattie, Matt Mulchay, Alex Skakle, & Ash Mckinnon.

They are all willing to be re-elected.

Also, Murray Hourston and Robert Paterson were co-opted onto the Committee in April 2022 & are willing to be elected.

There are 4 vacant places.

The Secretary/ Treasurer recommended that:

- These 5 be re-elected.
- These 2 be elected.
- That the vacancies are filled by seeking nominations at AGM tonight or it is remitted to the Committee to co-opt anyone else afterwards if they feel it necessary to do so.

The Secretary/ Treasurer then opened it up to those present for any questions or any proposals and suggested. There were none.

The recommendations were approved on the motion of Paul Adderton, seconded by David Knowles.

9. Riverfly Partnership Anglers' Riverfly Monitoring Initiative Presentation

Rebecca Lewis from Buglife Scotland:

https://www.buglife.org.uk/get-involved/near-me/buglife-scotland/

gave an interesting and informative presentation about the Riverfly Monitoring Initiative and answered questions about it.

Gerry Hough outlined how he would be taking forward the monitoring locally and requested that if anyone present wished to be involved to pass on their details to the Secretary/ Treasurer in the first instance and that further communications about this would be going out to the general membership.

Rebecca and Gerry were thanked for doing this.

<u>10. AOCB</u>

Kenny Riddell reported that £300 had been raised in the raffle for two local charities:

Cfine: https://www.cfine.org/

Aberdeen North Foodbank: https://aberdeennorth.foodbank.org.uk/

He and his two helpers, Izzie, and Zoey were thanked for organising this.

Mike Barclay enquired about the use of kayaks at the Machar Pool. Kenny Riddell confirmed details about this are in the rules.

Ash Mckinnon reminded those present to take away one the new Join the Association leaflet/ flyers recently prepared to help with membership recruitment.

Being No further business Paul Adderton closed the meeting.

A vote of thanks to the chairman was proposed.

ADAA Trophy	2022 Winner
POTS &FORDS	KENNY RIDDELL
POTS & FORDS RUNNER UP	NO WINNER 2022
JEAN REYNOLDS TROPHY	KENNY RIDDELL
D R WILSON TROPHY	NO WINNER 2022
MITCHELL SHIELD	STUART FULLERTON
PRESIDENTS TROPHY	NO WINNER 2022
JOHN CAMERON TROPHY	KENNY RIDDELL
SIMPSON PLAQUE	KENNY RIDDELL
MUNRO PLAQUE	RICHARD MCHATTIE
JORDAN CUP	NO WINNER 2022
JIM & BETTY REYNOLDS YTHAN TROPHY	GRAEME MCPHERSON
LAST FLING TROPHY	KENNY RIDDELL
SENIOR CLUB CHAMPIONSHIP	KENNY RIDDELL